Book Review → First Frost

First Frost Title: First Frost
Author: Jennifer Estep
Series: Mythos Academy
Publication Date: July 1st, 2011

Synopsis: I am Gwen Frost, and I have a Gypsy gift. It’s called psychometry – that’s a fancy way of saying that I see images in my head and get flashes of other people’s memories off almost everything I touch, even guys.

My gift makes me kind of nosy. Okay, okay, maybe a lot nosy–to the point of obsession sometimes. I want to know everything about everyone around me. But even I don’t want to know the secrets my friend Paige is hiding or the terrible loss that will send me to a new school – Mythos Academy, where the teachers aren’t preparing us for the SATs, but to battle Reapers of Chaos. Now I have no friends and no idea how my gift fits in with all these warrior whiz kids. The only thing I do know is that my life is never, ever going to be the same. . .

Review: First off, the synopsis is much better written than this ‘novella’ and pretty much is all you need to read. Only a couple of pages into the novella and I was kicking myself for choosing to read it, I was quite bored. Gwen, the MC, is constantly repeating herself in her inner dialogue and honestly I got it the first time that she has “psychometry magic” and “GYPSY MAGIC”, I don’t need to be browbeaten with the information. Once is enough. It looks like Jennifer has carried her annoying habit of repeating information in this book, possibly this series. The amount of times she repeats phrases is annoying and reminds me of someone trying to pad their word count. I am not only talking about her habit of repeating “psychometry magic” and “GYPSY MAGIC” but simple things like “annoying, annoying, annoying”, she will use a word three times like that, over and over and over again.

Chain of events:

  1. ‘Sees’ that a classmate is being sexually abused by her stepfather
  2. Mom dies in a car crash – blames herself
  3. Cries
  4. Cries some more
  5. Cries even more
  6. Grandma enrolls her in a school for ~magical kids
  7. Whines about new school
  8. Tours new school
  9. Instant lust with MMC

I really do not think this “novella” had a point, it really felt like a badly written prologue that an editor had scrapped and the author still wanted out there so she made it a novella. This does not make me want to rush out and start the first book in the series, in fact, it’s made me leery of starting the series in the first place.

Stars:

Recommendation: Don’t bother with this. If you’re interested in this series just start with the first book. (I might or might not still be giving it a shot. I love mythology and imo, there are not enough series out about it.)

Leave a Reply

